Google maps in Games Design

I was tasked with using Google maps in street view to gain reference images and inspiration for use in our asset pack.

I deiced to look at Japanese architecture to get an understanding of how the landscape is modeled and inspired into the icon Japanese we know today and even how they might evolve their buildings in the future. This task was quite informative as i got to learn about Japaneses Architecture and how there builds have a certain style.

There are parts of the Japanese architecture that is prevalent in mostly all buildings in Japan. That is that most roofs of traditional Japanese architecture curve slightly inwards at the edge and then increase in height drastically. I would like to emulate this in my asset  pack.

The pillar design which is also used in quite a lot of different Japanese buildings would be quite good to incorporate in my asset pack as it can give depth to the assets with traditional Japanese architecture.

Leave a comment